2019冠狀病毒

疫苗安全監測計劃 (CARE)

Science Lab
顯微鏡

COVID-19 已是蔓延全球的流行病,目前屬於世界範圍內公共衛生最緊急的事項。預計COVID-19疫苗將在控制全球大流行中發揮重要作用。行政長官於2020年12月23日宣布,為香港市民確保注射2250萬支COVID-19疫苗。政府亦已經在2021年2月展開的COVID-19疫苗運動。類似於所有新藥的開發,COVID-19疫苗的開發和試驗最初是由特殊選定的參與者組成,隨後才是大規模的試驗。就COVID-19疫苗而言,疫苗的開發和製造以及臨床試驗同時進行,以促進更有效的批准程序。與其他新藥和疫苗一樣,某些罕見的異常事件可能僅在現實世界中使用後才變得明顯,並且異常事件的情況在不同年齡組和具有不同特徵的人群中可能有所不同。因此,在疫苗開始被香港市民大規模注射時,密切監測疫苗的安全性非常重要。開發全面的上市後監測也尤為重要,特別是廣泛使用COVID-19疫苗後的潛在異常事件。

 

目前,香港的大規模疫苗接種計劃將使用三種類型的疫苗(具體視乎香港政府的批准及製造商的供貨):(1)復必泰(復星 / 德國BioNTech),(2)克爾來福(科興生物製品,中國北京);以及(3)AZD1222疫苗(牛津大學 / 阿斯利康)。這些疫苗將由香港衛生署購買,製造商並未參與這項擬議的研究。

 

在開展CARE計劃時,很少關於可能的罕見異常事件相關報道,且沒有任何關於COVID-19疫苗的中期和長期結果的進一步信息。我們建議通過對包括弱勢群體在內的普通人群進行實時監視從而積極收集有關潛在異常事件的數據,並提供策略以快速檢測,通過評估優先級別,強化監控程序,更新安全信息。研究信息將來自藥物辦公室的不良藥品報告系統,醫院管理局的電子健康記錄,以及觀察性研究的其他數據來源。信息將用於迅速評估檢測安全性問題,以確定疫苗的風險效益特徵。我們還將廣泛進行全球文獻篩選,以監控香港可能出現的潛在風險。

/

​研

/

 
 

/

​研

目標

/

Petri Dish

項目一

2019冠狀病毒疫苗特殊異常事件(AESI)的發生率背景研究

提供具有特殊異常事件(AESI)的背景發生率,包括但不限於罕見或嚴重的異常事件。在疫苗接種計劃開始前,我們會使用世界衛生組織認可的AESI(此列表是由歐洲藥品管理局資助的 ACCESS項目【vACCine covid-19 monitoring readinESS】提供),在不同年齡和性別的發病率做出計算,然後匯報AESI發生的幾率。

項目

特殊異常事件(AESI)的緊密分析

進行每週緊密數據監察以識別選定的特殊異常事件(AESI),並自動搜索醫院管理局的電子健康記錄(公共部門)取出數據,通過使用分析數據的因果關係以建立接種疫苗後異常事件的預警系統。我們還期望擴展AESI監控系統,讓私營部門也可以參與此項目。

項目

記錄關聯研究:評估2019冠狀病毒疫苗的安全性

進行記錄連接研究,找出衛生署和醫院管理局的數據和記錄(需要住院的個案)的相關性,以進行隊列研究來評估疫苗風險。另外會使用病例對照和自我對照研究等方法來評估從醫管局和私家醫院獲得的特殊異常事件病例。

項目

社區監測

深入監察大約6500名疫苗接種者來確定所有在接種疫苗後的異常事件詳細信息,包括常見異常事件,例如注射部位發炎,頭痛等。

COVID-19 vaccines Adverse events Response and Evaluation (CARE) Programme

Science Lab
顯微鏡

COVID-19 is a global pandemic that is currently the highest public health priority worldwide. The COVID-19 vaccine is expected to play an important role in the control of the global pandemic. On 23 December 2020, the Chief Executive announced that 22.5 million shots of COVID-19 vaccines have been secured for Hong Kong citizens. The Government-led COVID-19 vaccine campaign has been launched since February 2021. Similar to the development of all novel medicines, COVID-19 vaccines were developed and trialled in initially small groups of specific and selected participants, followed by larger trial numbers. In the case of COVID vaccines, vaccine development/manufacturing was carried out in parallel with clinical trials to facilitate more efficient approval processes. Like other new drugs and vaccines, indeed, it is possible that some rare adverse events may only become apparent following real-world usage and adverse reaction profiles may differ in different age groups and among people with different characteristics. Hence, it is immensely important to closely monitor the safety of the vaccines as they begin to be taken up by the citizens of Hong Kong. It is important to develop a comprehensive surveillance to monitor potential adverse events of COVID-19 vaccines while in widespread clinical use.

Currently, two types of vaccines are available for the mass vaccination programme in Hong Kong (subject to the approval of the Hong Kong Government and availability from the manufacturers): (1) COVID-19 mRNA Vaccine BNT162b2 (Pfizer/BioNTech); and (2) CoronaVac (Sinovac Life Sciences, Beijing, China). The vaccines were purchased by the Hong Kong Government and the manufacturers are not involved in this proposed study.

At the time of the CARE Programme, only scant reports of possible rare adverse events were reported with no further information about medium and long-term outcomes on any of the COVID-19 vaccines. In this programme, we actively collect data on potential adverse outcomes by conducting real-time surveillance on the general population, including vulnerable groups; provide a framework to rapidly detect, prioritise and evaluate emerging safety information derived from an intensive monitoring programme from sources including adverse drug reporting system from the Department of Health (DH) Drug Office, electronic health records of Hospital Authority (HA), observational studies and other data sources; for prompt evaluation of detected safety issues to determine the risk-benefit profile of the vaccines. We will also continuously screen for risks from the global literature to monitor potential risks that may arise in Hong Kong.

/

Study

Background

/

 
 

/

Study

Objectives

/

Petri Dish

PART 1:

Background incidence of  AESI 

To provide background incidence of adverse events of special interest (AESI) including but not limited to rare or serious adverse events. A list of AESI has been endorsed by the World Health Organisation (WHO) and used by EMA-funded ACCESS (vACCine covid-19 monitoring readinESS) project. We estimate the age and sex specific incidences of these AESI before the commencement of the vaccination programme and report the likely frequency of putative adverse events expected from the background incidence.

PART 2:
Active surveillance

To conduct weekly surveillance to identify selected AESI and conduct causality assessment as an early warning system using electronic health record from HA data (public sector). 

PART 3:

Record-linkage study

To conduct a record-linkage study to link the DH data on vaccination records and the HA records (outcomes that require hospitalisation) to conduct cohort studies to evaluate the relative risk. With the AESI cases obtained from HA, we also conduct case-control and self-controlled studies to evaluate the association.  

PART 4:

Intensive monitoring

To conduct intensive monitoring of approximately more than 4000 vaccine recipients to allow us to ascertain details of ALL adverse events inclusive of common adverse events including injection site inflammation, headache and others.